ASMS NCWIT Scholar Featured in Auburn Magazine

By September 20, 2018 No Comments

ASMS Alumna Amber Jackson ’15, who is double majoring in Computer Science and French at Auburn University, was featured in the Auburn Engineering magazine, which celebrated Women in Engineering in their current issue.

Jackson is featured on the cover, left. Click here to view the magazine.

Jackson received the National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT) Aspirations in Computing Award during her time at ASMS.

Current ASMS students can apply now for the NCWIT Aspirations in Computing Award. The awards are sponsored by NCWIT, which is an organization of more than 1,100 universities, corporations, non-profits and government organizations that works to increase women’s participation in computing and technology.

Award recipients receive exclusive access to scholarships, internships, and job opportunities all across the nation as well as prizes and trophies.

Award recipients are selected based on their aptitude and interest in technology and computing, leadership ability, academic history, and plans for post-secondary education. Applications may be submitted anytime between now and November 5, but please apply sooner rather than later.

The application includes a number of multiple-choice questions and short essays — this should not take long to complete. To apply, students must go to


Any U.S. woman in grades 9 through 12 is eligible to apply and will be considered for both the National and Affiliate Award, if she also meets all of the following criteria:

  • She is 13 years of age or older at time of account creation.
  • She is a U.S. citizen or permanent resident who attends school in the U.S. or is a U.S. citizen attending school in Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, or on a U.S. overseas military base.
  • She has a U.S. Tax Identification or Social Security Number.
  • She is not an NCWIT employee and has no immediate family relationship with employees, extended staff, contractors or board members of NCWIT (including spouses, siblings, children, grandchildren, and persons residing in the same household).

ASMS students can contact Computer Science Instructor Deborah Gray (S206) if they have any questions.

ASMS has had a number of winners over the last few years!

2018: Cady Studdard, Emmeline Nettles, Folasade Oyenku, Megan Matthews, Jeanne Croom (educator award)
2017: Anastasia Braylan, Yulin Ou, Jordan Edmonds
2016: Kendall Swanson, Hannah Adler
2015: Amber Jackson, Hannah Adler

Leave a Reply