Latest News

Announcing the 2021 - 2022 JBLA Cohort

Leadership Academy Logo

We are pleased to announce that 49 students have been selected for the ASMS Jo Bonner Leadership Academy 2021 - 2022 cohort. They will begin their participation, training, and leadership through JBLA next school year. The selected students and their home counties are listed below. Congratulations students!

About JBLA

The Jo Bonner Leadership Academy (JBLA) will maximize the potential of ASMS students to do the exceptional and to lead with purpose. Through a combination of leadership development and experiential learning, the academy provides opportunities for students to participate in group workshops, team building exercises, skill trainings, breakout sessions, and personal reflection. Students will learn to achieve goals and address challenges through realizing their own leadership impact and working collaboratively on a team. Graduates of the academy will live with character, serve generously, and envision the future for themselves and the world around them.

JBLA was created with a long-term view for our students as well. It will provide our students with a robust leadership experience on their resume for the purposes of college admission. It is also modeled after college-level leadership programs, so our students will have a strong leadership foundation when applying to such programs one day.

History of JBLA

When the legislature created ASMS in 1989, they wanted the school to promote leadership. Leadership is at the very core of the ASMS mission statement. It is our aim to equip students to positively transform their community, state, and nation through their leadership - as current students and as graduates. During their time at ASMS, many of our students become leaders through the positions they hold and the roles they are called to serve in on our campus.

However, is a person a leader simply by holding a position? Is a person prepared to maximize their leadership when given a title or responsibility? Does a person know how to spend their time and energy when entrusted with a leadership role?

The ASMS Jo Bonner Leadership Academy was created to answer all of these questions as our school takes a more intentional approach to student leadership development. Through JBLA, our students learn about exemplary leadership, and when we think about exemplary leadership, we think about our former school board chairman, Jo Bonner. He graciously agreed to let us name the Leadership Academy after him. He served as our key-note speaker at the JBLA retreat in fall of 2020.

2021 - 2022 Cohort

Mosinmiloluwa Adeyemo Calhoun County
Chinonye Alilonu Tuscaloosa County
Adam Amissah Montgomery County
Myra Bajwa Mobile County
Lucinda Barber Madison County
Sydney Barnett Baldwin County
Mary Ellis Barton Baldwin County
Mason Bayles Calhoun County
Destiny Buchanan Coffee County
Layla Byrd Mobile County
Eli Chapman Baldwin County
Anna Dorris Baldwin County
Ava Dowden Baldwin County
Anya Doyle Mobile County
Katherine Echeverri Etowah County
Ava Frost Etowah County
Samuel Graham Baldwin County
Dinali Jayasena Mobile County
Jacob Kim Tuscaloosa County
Nathan Kim Mobile County
A’Blessin King Autauga County
Albert Le Baldwin County
Lucas MacDonald Mobile County
Emily MacDonald Morgan County
Olivia McAleer Baldwin County
Madisson McMichael Baldwin County
Emma McSpadden Mobile County
Eugene Min Mobile County
Layla Moberg Escambia County
Zoi Moon Autauga County
Sanjana Mupparaju Calhoun County
Bentley Nelsen Baldwin County
Hannah Nguyen Mobile County
Ella Nichols Randolph County
Peyton Plumlee Madison County
Tatiana Radoslovich Mobile County
Elbread Roh Autauga County
Abby Saalwaechter Madison County
Christopher Schofield Butler County
Muhammed Shalan Mobile County
Shrish Shetty Houston County
Audrey Shore Tuscaloosa County
Kaeli Stevens Baldwin County
Baylie Tagudar Mobile County
Thomas Templeton Mobile County
Loan Tran Mobile County
Aiyana Travis Mobile County
Emma Wahlers Baldwin County
SarahGrace Wood Blount County
  • May 12, 2021