Latest News

ASMS Faculty Member Dr. Elisa Rambo Named Innovative STEM Teacher of the Year

399859671 817423467053075 6617943309342291658 n
Image Credit: National Consortium of Secondary STEM Schools

ASMS Chemistry Department faculty member, Dr. Elisa Rambo, was honored with the Innovative STEM Teacher of the Year Award by the National Consortium of Secondary STEM Schools in November of 2023. She has been a faculty member at ASMS for 19 years, and she teaches high-level classes including like AP Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Organic Spectroscopy. She also teaches fun classes like The Science Behind Sci-Fi Movies. For the past two years, Dr. Elisa Rambo’s student research teams have reached the finals at the national level of the Toshiba ExploraVision Competition.

According to NCSSS, “The NCSSS Innovative Teacher of the Year award celebrates a teacher who works at Institutional Member schools. The nominated teacher should advance the mission of the member school and STEM education.”

ASMS Academic Dean nominated Dr. Rambo for the award. In his submission he described how Dr. Rambo implements STEM infused teaching strategies and innovation in their classroom. He shared how Dr. Rambo incorporates STEM into the ASMS culture and connects STEM to real-world careers and industry.

Dr. Rambo’s service at ASMS expands to outside the classroom as well. She has served on the ASMS Board of Directors as faculty representative. She also serves as the school’s Discipline Committee Chair and Science Safety Officer.

ASMS Mathematics Professor and alumna from the Class of 2005, Meoshe Id-Deen, helped tell the story of Dr. Rambo’s impact on ASMS and generations of ASMS students, especially women scientists. Watch the video to see why Dr. Rambo is so special to ASMS, STEM, and STEM Education.

Congratulations, Dr. Rambo!

  • Dec 06, 2023